Saturday, September 1, 2012

Sargodha Police

Police in Pakistan are a Provincial Chapter. Like 35 other Districts in the largest integral unit of Punjab Police, the latter being headed by an Inspector General of Police. Sargodha District Police is subdivided into 25 Police Stations. A Police Station is the smallest Unit, although some large Police Stations may have one or two satellite Police Posts. The head of each Police Station is an Officer of the rank of Inspector, called Station House Officer (SHO). A group of Police Stations constitute a Police Sub-division which is supervised by an officer of the rank of Asstt/ Deputy Superintendent of Police (ASP/DSP). The present strength of the District Police is 2176 Constables/ Head Constables, 277 Investigators (Sub-Inspector & Asstt Sub-Inspector Rank), 60 Inspectors, 11 DSPs and two Superintendents of Police (SP). The District Police is headed by a District Police Officer of the rank of Senior Superintendent of Police. Since its inception, 58 officers have commanded the District Police. Presently Muhammad RIZWAN is the head of the District Police. The District Police is operationally augmented by district detachments of other Wings of the Provincial Police, like Elite (Commando Units), Counter-terrorism Department (CTD), Special Branch (The Intelligence Wing), Punjab Highway Patrol (PHP) and Traffic Police. These district detachments of these specialised Wings of the Police are headed by an officer of the rank of DSP, who report to the Provincial Police Headquarter (PHQ), but also are responsible to the District Head in all local/ operational matters.

No comments:

Post a Comment